Spinach Harvest Salad!

This isn’t fancy but it is delicious… It’s still about using what you have. A lot of my favorite dinners happen on clean the fridge night. The hardest part is remembering what I threw in to recreate it.  I think it’s the sweet taste of homegrown spinach cut strait from the garden that makes this one. Uli has enough teeth that I  could let her try this salad as is. Let’s just say she had fun with it. Oh! And have I mentioned how excited I am to have my first harvest!

SDC12329Start with the freshest spinach you can find

SDC12331Here’s what I had in my fridge my first day back from a ten day vacation…

  • Carrots (I like to shave them for salads… just keep pealing)
  • Feta
  • Red cabbage
  • Ranch dressing (yes the hidden valley stuff… nothing else tastes quite like it)

Now make it a meal…

  • Corn tortillas
  • Pepper jack cheese
  • Grill or pan fry to make simple quesadillas
  • Add whatever salsa you like (check out my recipes in the Freeform Texmex posting)

Any one else have a favorite clean the fridge recipe to share?

Leave a comment